Applying to Graduate School in the UK: Resources

Last summer I was about to go into my fourth and final year of my undergrad. I had no idea what I wanted to do, where I wanted to be in a year let alone five. I knew that I would be graduating with a Bachelors Degree in English, but I had no idea what I wanted to do with it. I knew I had to probably go into some form of post-graduate school, however, nothing appealed.

One day I was scrolling through my Facebook newsfeed when I saw an advertisement one of my friends had liked for an organization called Across The Pond (ATP). “Helping Canadian students study in the UK since 2004” the post said. I clicked immediately.

What I discovered through browsing the site was that it was a free service dedicated to helping students like myself navigate their way through the application process of applying to schools in the United Kingdom. You sign up and are assigned an advisor who helps to guide you through which schools are best suited for you and your area of interest, the application process, and even help with student visa and accommodation applications, up until you arrive on the campus itself.

This was one of the services I found to be the most helpful during my own application process. My advisor was immensely helpful and knowledgable,  and would respond to any questions I had promptly. In particular she helped to inform me about what to include in my personal statements to the schools, and worked by my side to proofread all of my materials to ensure that everything was correct.

Below is the link if any of you are at all interested in applying. I highly encourage it! As well, when you create an account with ATP your advisor will take into consideration your GPA. When I was a bit more wary about whether or not I had high enough grades to attend school abroad, my advisor sent me a list of over 40 schools that I had a high enough GPA to attend.Plus, its free! Even the applications to the schools themselves!

What do you have to lose? If I hadn’t thought to apply, I might not be attending school in London come September.

xo

Helpful Links:

Across the Pond:

http://ca.studyacrossthepond.com/

https://www.facebook.com/AcrossThePondUK

Times Higher Education (Helpful Stats):

https://www.timeshighereducation.com/student/best-universities/best-universities-uk

Thinking London? Here’s a helpful blog post to get you interested.

https://www.timeshighereducation.com/student/blogs/student-blog-how-find-your-community-and-settle-student-london

